The older people who need employment have to compete with younger ones. What problems can this create? What are some solutions?

Nowadays, it is true that in order to apply for jobs senior citizens have to be in competition with younger ones. Several problems relating to society have resulted from this tendency and they should be tackled by several effective solutions from national and local authorities.

There are some main problems caused by the competition between the old and the young. The main issue is that older people often have difficulty in finding jobs because of age discrimination. Therefore, they can become unemployed, which not only increases the unemployment rate in the community but also makes them unable to meet basic human needs as well as decreases their quality of life. Another problem is that the old employers can be put under a lot of pressure as younger people are capable of adapting more easily to changes in work practices than the elderly could do. As a consequence, older workers may have some health problems such as heart disease or headaches due to the stress of copying these changes.

Since such issues are serious, the government and individuals should take steps immediately to address these problems. The first solution would be that the government can impose laws on companies to stop discrimination against older workers. Therefore, the elderly can have more opportunities to apply for a job successfully and make their living. The second solution is that older individuals should train their skills hard and adopt positive attitudes to changes at work. Besides, if young colleagues help them out with work, the elderly can perform better.

In conclusion, the rivalry between older and younger people in employment has negative impacts on society so that appropriate solutions should be taken by not only governments but also individuals to prevent this situation.