The older people who need employment have to compete with younger ones. What problems can this create? What are some solutions?

Age discrimination among applicants has been causing headaches to all relevant bodies who join the recruitment market. This essay attempts to shed light on some potential consequences of this problem and propose some viable solutions to resolve it.

Age discrimination, in terms of consequences, causes people to be more vulnerable to unemployment. On the one hand, generation conflicts may occur violently stemming from age favoritism. To be specific, young-age favoritism may ignite the fear of being replaced and unemployed among the old, and therefore, they may negatively act against younger applicants by isolating and not sharing their working experience. On the other hand, the cognition of old age as a disadvantage may put young employees into burned-out status. Since they have to work and improve themselves as fast as possible to get a permanent job before they are considered old applicants, many of them have no option but to devote all their physical and mental health to work, which may be exhausting and discouraging.

To combat this worrying issue, the following feasible steps should be taken. Firstly, recruiters should have rules to avoid direct rivalries between applicants of different age groups. For example, recruiters should not let any candidates know the age of the other since old candidates may blame for their age disadvantage if they fail. Secondly, corporations should facilitate improvement for staff to meet the need of their positions. By applying internal training courses, not only employers can improve the productivity of their businesses but also employees may be protected from age competition as their experience can outweigh their age.

In short, there are serious repercussions attributable to this negative phenomenon, and it is crucial that the aforementioned measures be implemented to deal with this problem.