One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the last half century, life expectancy across the world has been rising as a result of better quality healthcare. This means that today we have an ageing population.

In terms of living longer, some people opine that increasing life expectancy increases the ratio of the older population and shrink the active workforce. Thus they believe supporting the old generation is a burden for the country. But, this opinion is misguided and not backed by facts. In my opinion, the icreasing of life expectency has various upsides

With an increasing life expectancy, people these days remain more active and contribute to society even in their old age. As the government has raised the retirement age, old people are no longer a burden, rather an active workforce.

Finally, the number of working parents is heightening and our grandparents are the last hope for young children. Older people are doing us a favour by taking most of our family burdens.