One of the most important issues facing the world today is a shortage of food and some think genetically modified foods are a possible solution.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, famine is a major threat to human wellbeing, which gives some people the idea that genetically engineered foods could be a viable solution to this problem. This is probably a feasible measure to some extent, but I disagree because of its inefficiency of time and money.

The main reason to support the application of genetically modified crops is the improved outputs of certain plants. Thanks to biotechnological breakthroughs, engineers have succeeded in altering physical traits of multiple common plants, rendering them much stronger against drastic weather or harmful insects. For instance, in Vietnam a salt-tolerant rice variety has been created by the governmental engineering group to typically fit the saline soil in the southwest region. The result of this new rice variety lives up to people’s expectations: introducing a means of sustenance for indigenous farmers and also contribute greatly to the productivity of national agriculture.

That said, lengthy time and prohibitive prices are the issues associated with these types of foods. To begin with, it could take several years to conduct experiments, inspections and modifications in the laboratory before a new plant species officially launched into the market. Of course all scientists hope desirable results to their inventions in a fairly short period of time, but there is no guarantee. Some scientific processes could take a decade, and maybe more before the findings are yielded. Finally, new variations of species are usually claimed a monopoly of certain corporations as their intellectual property. Thus, such genetically foods are charged with exorbitant costs which, in most cases, would go beyond consumers’ budget. There seems to be no problems to people who have ample affordability, but to those living below the poverty line, it could be a big financial obstacle.

In conclusion, despite a good notion in harvest enhancement, bioengineered foods really pose a challenge to users. Personally, I think there might be some other possible options to wipe out famine in the world.