One way to solve the problem of congestion is to increase the tax on private vehicles. Do the advantages of this solution outweigh its disadvantages?

In this day and age, transportation play a vital role in people’s lives. Many suggest that the government should increase the tax on personal vehicles to reduce the congestion. In this essay, I am going to discuss about both pros and cons of this trend and give my own opinion.

On the one hand, there is a main reason why I agree with this solution. The reason is that increasing the tax can solve the problem of pollution, which is the major concern in globlal. This is because the fewer people own car, the less negative effect to the environment. For example, the ozon layer is seriously damaged by the house gases and emission from vehicles. Besides, the government can use these taxes to improve the quality of public transportation such as bus or subway train.

On the other hand, despite the given opinion, there is a reason why this idea is not necessary. The reason relating to this is that when rising tax on private vehicles, people in middle class or even people in the poverty do not have chances to own a car or a motorbike. This is because each family has their financial plan, if they own a car, increasing tax can directly affect to their financial issue. As a result, not only the automobile industry but also the nation economy are influenced.

Taking everything into consideration, it is clear that many support the view that one way to solve congestion problems is increase the tax on private vehicles due to its benefits. However, in my perspective, I believe this is not an effective way for some countries.