online communication is becoming more popular than face-to-face communication in many companies. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, in some interpreters, the usage of social media such as Facebook, Instagram and Twitter in order to communicate can come to be people’s top priority. Despite some obvious disadvantages of this trend, I argue that these are outweighed by advantages.

On the one hand, there are a wide variety of drawbacks depending on online communication. To begin with, it is undeniable that communication through social media platforms can be a stumbling block to interpersonal skill development. As online communication could be a written form in some cases, which enables people to apply slang words or emoji to transfer messages to others. As a result, they are not able to properly convey what they need without using informal words and phrases when communicating face-to-face. Besides, internet communication could give rise to unexpected problems for companies because of the lack of high security, which can render information to leak out.

On the other hand, it seems to me that the benefits are more significant than such downsides. First of all, online communication can assist staff to convey information in the blink of an eye and more efficiently. The reason is that they can use shorthand and shortened versions of the words themselves and attach images, documents or videos as well, followed by enhancing work productivity. Moreover, communicating on the Internet assists businesses to put money aside. For example, in lieu of having long-haul flights to engage in meetings with different branches from the parts of the world, supervisors can create online meetings that allow all workers to attend.

In conclusion, it is my contention that the prevalence of online communication brings more benefits than drawbacks for firms.