Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view ?

Whether the national budget should be poured into the arts or other realms sparks a controversy. Although I argue that investing in the arts does not mean dissipating money, I also suppose that it is essential for the government to allocate subsidies for other more urgent domains.

There are several reasons why state funding for the arts is not money squandering. To begin with, it is evident that the magnitude of art in a country is undeniable as it is deemed to represent the nation's culture and image as well. For example, the pyramid, an unique art architecture, has created a distinct identity of Egypt. Besides, investment in art can create career opportunities for artists and art teachers, which could assist them to land a living-wage job in order to cover their basic needs. By contrast, in the absence of the art industry, thousands of people can have to face unemployment.

However, it seems to me that other sectors are of more importance. First of all, it is advisable for the government to spend money on the educational system because education plays an important role in a country's sustainable development. For instance, in Germany, a good educational system has created thousands of highly-skilled workforce especially in the technological field, followed by becoming one of top ten countries in technology. In addition, another field in need of financial support is healthcare. As recently, the rapid spread of the covid 19 and the increasing incidence of the disease have posed a threat to the public health system.

In conclusion, while I subscribe to the opinion that the benefits of art should not be underestimated, it is my contention that other fields should take precedence over the arts.