Some children can learn more efficiently by watching tv. Therefore, children should watch tv regularly both in school and at home. Do you agree or disagree?

People believe that TV exposure can bring advantages for their study so they should encourage watching TV frequently both in school and at home. Personally, I partly agree with this idea

On the one hand, there are benefits when children watch TV. Firstly, educational channels on TV like Discovery, the history channel and especially PBS allow kids to dig deeper insight into other cultures, lifestyle and values from pasts of the world. This helps them avoid culture shock or other culture-related problems when they study in foreign country or travel. Furthermore, watching TV regularly creates a favourable condition for children to get access to a reservoir of knowledge. They can learn some language or another useful thing by watching, assisting them to boost their knowledge and make them more aware of the world around them, which is important in their lives future

On the other hand, it is obvious that watching TV has several detrimental impacts on physical and mental health. As we can see that if children spend more time on exposing TV screen, they can be more likely to suffer from health problems such as obesity and short-sightedness associated with sedentary lifestyle. Moreover, spending too much time on watching TV means that they do not have much time on social activities. This leads to isolating people and discouraging real world. In addition to this, some today’s TV programs contains violent and obscene contents. If children expose heavily to those programmes, they tend to emulate and become more aggressive in their adulthood

In conclusion, while it is supported by some that kids should watch TV regularly because it gives them a chance to be more effective study, I think that the negative influences can be seen in this trend