Online shopping is increasing dramatically. How could this trend affect our environment and the kinds of jobs required?

It can be true that in modern life web-based shopping is becoming more and more ubiquitous. However, this trend has an intense effect on environmental matters as well as the labor market.

On the one hand, the development of e-commerce may have negative impacts on the environment. For example, rush delivery, which is often essentially associated with e-shopping, is widespread in recent years. Firstly, it seems to me that this quick delivery increases the amount of carbon footprint due to the growth in the number of car trips. Secondly, a myriad of plastics can be generated from the process of packaging and distributing products. These redundant plastics, if not effectively treated, may cause serious repercussions including environmental pollution or global warming. Therefore, the more commonplace online shopping is, the more detrimental the environmental issues could be.

On the other hand, it is probable that the rise of shopping on the Internet has a positive influence on the job market. When commercial activities on the Internet are developing, the demand of inhabitants for purchasing goods and products tends to increase remarkably. As a result, not only does this tendency promote manufacturing industries and stores, but it also provides the unemployed with jobs such as sales workers or delivery people. In this way, e-commerce might tackle unemployment and boost the economy. Hence, many businesses and residents can benefit from shopping online.

In conclusion, web-based commercial activities are on the significant rise, and the environment, along with employment, tends to be profoundly affected by this movement.