Online shopping is increasing dramatically. How could this trend affect our environment and the kind of jobs required?

In the developed world, the internet has become an important part of our life. The internet has changed the way we purchase products and goods to satisfy our demands. Thus, more and more people are choosing to shop online. This trend can bring about many impacts on our environment and job market.

About the environment, shopping online have some advantages. First of all, shopping online help reduce environmental pollution. As we all know, the less people travel, the less polluted the environment is. If people buy all things on the Internet, they need not travel. This will lessen traffic congestion. As a result of not travelling, fewer people take part in the transportation system, there are fewer cars or motorbikes being used. Therefore, there are certainly fewer jams and traffic accidents. Moreover, less using transport means that people preserve natural resources, such as fuel or gas.

Another influence of shopping online is to change the job market all around the world. Because of shopping online, people do not purchase in stores and shopping centers so shopkeepers will no longer be needed. Instead of, online shopping could provide more job opportunities in the society such as web designer, online bank account system, shippers and so on.

To sum up, with the developing of shopping online, change is inevitable. This trend will make our life easier and bring more benefits in the future if we have appropriate adaptations.