The only way to improve safety of our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offences. What extent do you agree or disagree?

According to statistics from local authority, more and more persons are injured or die due to traffic accidents. Many people think that the best way to improve road safety is by giving harder penalties to careless drivers. From my perspective, I am only in partial agreement with this view because of reason analyzed in the below essay.

On the one hand, stricter punishments should be enacted to decrease the number of traffic accidents. There is true that the irresponsible drivers use mobile phone when they are driving, hesitate and decide to exceed the speed limit ar consume alcohol before driving. Thus, more severe punishments such as monetary fine, imprisonment, holding driver’s licence or prohibiting drivers from driving for a period of time, which should be acted as a deterrent to those who traffic carelessly. Additionally, the responsibility of policemen play a vital role in bettering the safety of our roads. They do as a reminder to prevent people from ignoring and violating the traffic laws and arrest offenders instantly or adjust the traffic flows in case of congestions.

On the other hand, many other ways which should not be overlooked are positive effects to decline accidents. initially, education should be considered. All people are educated traffic law before issuance of licence, the educational campaigns of rules carry out to raise the public awareness via media or banners. Moreover , improving the transportation infrastructure seems a potential solution to address traffic accident issue. The low-quality narrow streets or the lack of signals roads are also the major factors of the occurrence of numberous traffic accidents.

In conclusion, although the stricter punishments can contribute to improvement of safety of our roads. I also believe other options could be considered as effective solutions.