The only way to improve safety of our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offences. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about measures to ensure road safety. However, whether imposing stricter penalties for driving offenses is the only way to protect people is still a controversial issue. Although I agree that harsher punishments can act as an effective way to deter people from committing road offenses, I believe that there are better methods to protect commuter’s welfare.

Firstly, it is obvious that the implementation of rules can change people’s attitudes toward violating laws. This means that if a driver is punished when he breaks a road rule, he will be in fear of gaining further punishment and avoid re-committing his offense. In addition, those who witness people receiving penalties may also realise the downsides of violating the laws and are unlikely to commit the same offence.

Furthermore, more severe punishments for traffic-related crimes can deter traffic accidents efficiently. For example, in the past, China witnessed a significant number of road casualties annually when it had very loosely enforced regulations. However, the once harsher laws related to road safety were implemented in 2009 there was a notable reduction in the total number of traffic accidents.

This is not to say that only by using stricter rules can we enhance the safety of our road. It is true that there are still other effective measures to ensure peoples safety, such as heightening people’s awareness through TV programs about the negatives of committing driving offenses or promoting the use of public transport systems such as buses or trains. To achieve the best results, the most effective method may be to combine all the aforementioned ideas.

In conclusion, in my opinion, stricter punishment is not the only way to deal with driving offenses. Measures including raising awareness and promoting the use of public transport systems can also contribute to maintaining road safet