Overpopulation

Since the early 20th century, the population began to grow tremendously in the urban area, resulting in overpopulation. This increases pollution and intensive competition in the city. However, these issues could be addressed if both the government and individuals join hands.

By push and pull factors, the urban population has been increasing rapidly which leads to several problems. Firstly, it could lead to serious pollution. Due to urban sprawl, there are numerous private vehicles on the road causing traffic jams, along with the growth of more factories and industries for the demands of the citizens. They are the culprits behind air pollution, causing great damage to the environment and humans’ health. Moreover, the more people migrate to large cities, the more competition increases. A high number of workers exists but a limited number of vacancies and companies are available, this may instigate a higher unemployment rate, provoking poverty and social crime. Besides, with fewer resources, less space but a denser population, the living costs will rise. When wealthy families could afford quality education and food whereas poor families could only use the remnant. Mental problems may leave consequences on human life because of stress or low living standard.

There are ways to address this issue throughout. First, the government should carry out projects that densify the city such as walking streets or high-rise apartment buildings so as to make people less dependent on cars or promote recycling. Second, legal authorities should consider policies for migrants. For example, they could lower the tax rate for those who have lower living conditions and so on. Companies could also contribute by creating a friendlier working environment. People should think thoroughly about both positive and negative points before moving to a denser city instead of staying where they are to prevent unwanted outcomes.

To conclude, overpopulation has brought about several problems such as pollution and aggressive competition. Nevertheless, with careful plans, legal authorities and residents could tackle these problems together.