Parents of obese children should be punished for making their children fat.

Do you agree or disagree ?

Parents who have fat children should be given punishment for making their children obese. I do not agree with the above statement because i feel that obesity can be hereditary or metabolic diseases and some parents might not have control over such complex problems due to various reasons and lack of knowledge.

Firstly, obesity is a diseases and this could be hereditary or metabolic and not just by over eating or over feeding, so parents cannot be directly blamed for such a complex health issues in their children. Moreover, punishing a father or a mother who is already struggling to make their child loss weight is completely illogical, and hence i strongly suggest that they should be give support rather than punishment considering their circumstances.

Secondly, not everybody has the facilities to take professional opinion from doctors or physical trainers to make a child fit. For instance people who live in remote areas or villages might not have the needed facilities to help the children, and thus accusing the parents in theses place would be foolish on the part of the government.

Lastly, parents who do not posses the required knowledge to understand the ill effects of obesity can be a major problem and thus simply punishing them would not have any positive change in the society unless we create awareness among the community.

To conclude, i total disagree to statement that a parent should be punished for the reason that his or her child is over weight. Obesity is mostly a diseases and cannot be always connected to over eating or over feeding and some times this could just be due to bad location, poor facilities and lack of knowledge and awareness among the family members.