In the past, buildings often reflected the culture of a society, but today all modern buildings look alike and cities around the world are becoming more and more similar

What do you think are the reasons for this?

Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is an indisputable fact that cultural values of a society are reflected by buildings in the past. However, nowadays people have a tendency to erect all modern building look similar as well as cities all over the world are becoming much the same. This essay will discuss the rationale behind this phenomenon, and I also think that it would be a both advantage and disadvantage effects.

Perhaps there are several reasons that related to architectural revolution and identifying the symbols of its country. Looking at the first idea, after the World War II, thank to developments of technologies of construction, modern architecture has become more and more popular to meet modern building requirements. This means it is no hard to find mega-structures like skyscrapers, pen-house, and apartment complex, etc. The second explanation is that associated with the principle, the appearance of a building must be typically designed for economical purposes by governments in order to recognize their culture. For example, France is prohibited to build very tall buildings in the heart of city to avoid spoiling the overall appearance of the skyline.

I hold belief that cities with the similar architecture can produce many beneficial and detrimental affects. With regard to positive impacts, cost-effective would be the strongest because the same modern building help people do not need to spend much time to create. Furthermore, these buildings are likely to be of aesthetic values, being strong and beautiful. Nevertheless, the negative effects should be taken into account since people might have a trouble for maintenance. Indeed, in order to repair a parts of buildings, they may destroy nearly overall system of it. In addition to, its building makes cities look boring due to having a familiar feels.

In conclusion, there are no real evidences showing that many buildings are not becoming increasingly similar, and I would argue that this development has not only benefit but also a potential cost.