In the past, the main role of teachers was providing information. Today with various sources of information available to students, teachers have no role in modern education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the recent past, we have witnessed a tremendous increase in the number of online courses being offered to students in various subjects. This has surely decreased the dependence on traditional classroom education for many. However, in my opinion the role of teachers in learning cannot be replaced by any other mode of education.

It can be agreedthat online courses offer number of benefits. First and foremost, students can learn anytime and from anywhere in the world. Course can be selected on the basis of one’s schedule. For Instance, students can study while sitting at the comfort of their homes or while traveling. Secondly, students can also choose the pace of the course they are studying. Every student has a different ability of learning and, can taketime till they have fully understood the lesson.

On the other hand, it can be argued that conventional classroom teaching is best for the holistic development of a child. Classroom teaching encourages debates and discussion which enhances the learning ability of children and it encourages health competition as well. These 2 attributes work like assets while securing employment positions in future. Further, teachers respond to student’s queries in real time which is absent in online courses. Various subjects such as chemistry and biology need the controlled environment of laboratories for learning; experiments conducted by students needs to be monitored by teachers for safety and better understanding.

To sum up, though the popularity of online courses is increasing due to ease of study and the availability of a plethora subjects offered, still it cannot replace traditional classroom studying with the help of teachers. Teachers form an integral part of learning and development of children.