In the past, most people lived in small villages where everyone knew everyone else. Nowadays, most people live in large cities where they only know a few people in their area.

What do you think were the advantages and disadvantages of living in a small community?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

A long time ago, when science and technique was not developed, humans used to live together in small neighborhoods where they all knew each other. In my point of view, this lifestyle gave them both benefits and drawbacks.

Knowing every single person in one's area is a huge advantage for human to co-operate and flourish at high speed, especially when they did not have much knowledge of science. The ones who were stronger could use their power to protect everyone in the village from wild animal such as tigers, lions and gorillas. Moreover, with a huge number of people, they could find and store food for the winter so they were not in danger of being famish in hard periods. Also, different generation lived together, so grandparents could take care of children and the younger could gain experience from the elderly.

However, i think people staying together in the past might be a trouble due to some reasons. Firstly, if the grandparents were too old and weak to look after and protect children, one of the parents had to stay home and cared for them. This meant the family earned less than normal. In my view, the bigger problem was that the elderly could not pay so much attention to individual kids. As a result, the children sometimes were at stake of being attacked by wild animals or any things else.

To sum up, the benefits of people living in small villages and knew each other were grater than disadvantages. People were in stronger relationship, happier and helped by others whenever they were in trouble. Also, they would never have to face with loneliness.