In the past, most people lived in small villages where everyone knew everyone else. Nowadays, most people live in large cities where they know only a few people in their area. What do you think were the advantages and disadvantages of living in a small community?

Until recently, most people still lived where they were born. However, some tend to live in the big city. That's the way people change their daily lives.

Several benefits were living in the small towns in the past. Firstly, the people always have a connection, which they looked after another. For example, my mom had to carry heavy bags, her neighborhood came and helped her. People helped others in different situations and know how to deal with them. Secondly, when you were not at home, people around your house would take care of your kids. Thirdly, there was a little crime and has low pollution, which has fewer cars, motorbikes and this meant children get safe there. When the kids were at school, their teachers can pay attention to them, because they were in smaller schools and smaller classes.

On the other side, there were some difficulties when living in small towns. Families in the neighborhood connect, however they also needed privacy. At school, they did not have many facilities for both students and teachers, which meant students did not have good education as well. Especially, when members of the family were ill, they had to go from miles away to the hospital in the city or the next village.

In my opinion, people in my grandparents' generation were happier, but in the modern world, with all the convenient things, it is a pity to live in a small village. There are lots of advantages to living in a large city.