In the past, people ate local food in season. Nowadays, people buy a variety of foods from all over the world. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Previously, customers consumed local food grown seasonally. Recently, global consumers have the opportunity to buy various foods grown in different places and times of the year. From my perspective, the benefits outweigh the disadvantages. The purpose of this paragraph is to discuss both views.

With the development of delivery services, food can be delivered quickly to homes. Thanks to efficient transportation, individuals have chances to taste many types of food grown in different countries. The phenomenum opens several doors for customers to improve their health conditions as a variety of nutrients and vitamins are provided to our bodies. The nutrients in local food are sometimes not sufficient to allow the body to function properly, which is why consuming imported products may help people avoid lacking essential supplements and minerals. Moreover, individuals may get opportunities to learn about a certain culture when tasting foreign dishes since many kinds of food are symbols and represent a country and its tradition.

On the other hand, this trend is also followed by several drawbacks. One of the most significant problems is environmental destruction. To improve crop quality to meet the needs of the world population, a large amount of pesticides and chemicals is used. This can lead to serious water and soil pollution. Besides, the high cost of growing and harvesting unseasonal food sometimes may make it more difficult for people to buy the products.