In the past, people ate local food in season. Nowadays, people buy a variety of foods from all over the world. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In modern days, imported food is quite common, which leads to citizens purchasing a vast array of foods from all around the world compared to eating seasonal local food back then. In this essay, I will discuss both the pros and cons of this issue.

On the one hand, it has some advantages for people’s lives and society. By importing food from other countries, people can have more chances to taste a variety of foodstuffs not grown in their own country. Moreover, some overseas foods contain nutrients that boost our health. Next, people who reside in foreign countries such as overseas students or migrants are able to enjoy their country’s food or cuisine. For example, durian which is a fruit grown in every Asian nation. Therefore, when durian is imported to other countries, particularly European, hence, the Asians residing in Europe can enjoy this fruit and have a sense of satisfaction.

On the other hand, consuming international foods also brings drawbacks. First, traditional food might disappear. Both local and imported food is sold in the supermarket and buyers tend to opt for overseas food instead of local ones. As a result, local manufacturers cannot make as much profit as farmers. Additionally, the transportation of food is long distance from one country to another, which could affect climate change.

To conclude, eating non-local food is definitely more beneficial than traditional food as people can have more opportunities to explore other cuisines from other countries.