In the past, sports champions used to be motivated by the desire to win a match or to break the world records. These days, they are more likely to be motivated by prize money and the opportunity to be famous. What message does this send to young people and how does this attitude to sport affect the sports themselves?

Famous sport participants these days are deemed to be more determined toward fame and fortune in contrast to their seniors, who had a higher tendency of being motivated primarily by their inclination to be victorious or to create far superior records to their predecessors. This shift in attitude leaves behind noticeable effects on both the youth and the sport industry itself which will be discussed in this essay.

Taking money and popularity as primary stimuli spreads misconceptions about the meaning of sports among the young generations. With professional athletes being paid more and more astronomical amount of cash prizes, people will regard sport as more of an occupation rather than simply a way of staying in shape and healthy. Besides that, the luxurious lifestyles led by prominent athletes are also step by step encouraging hedonism. Moreover, winners of competitions receive better attention and rewards than their failing counterparts, making winners even more famous while the talented but lost players cannot receive training from professional seniors, leaving behind a big difference between the victory and the lost.

The sport industry itself also receive negative changes from this change of heart. Sports now are highly commercialised, sport programs are filled with commercial advertisements from their sponsors, while tickets price are rapidly escalating. With attitude toward fame, sport participants will not make use of all their focus on performance but on the image they are presenting in accordance with the advertising companies they contracted. Viewers won't be able to watch incandescent performances as they used to before. With commercialization in place, atheletes would also have to face with negative issues like failing to make ends meet with salary or their contracts are broken with their rivals replacing their spots. These things in the long run will become much of a distraction, thus degrading performance and the real value of sport.

In conclusion, I believe sport is a lucrative industry and sport athletes should be paid for what they desire from their outstanding performance. However, the industry is slowly killing the real value of sport.