In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Students were likely to study in a university in their home countries. However, nowadays, they have more chances to have a further education in foreign countries. In my opinion, study abroad is more beneficial.

There are two main reasons to support studying abroad. Firstly, living in foreign countries broadens people’s horizons. When an environment and atmospheres have changed, foreign students have to adapt themselves in order to appropriately act in their new countries. This means they have to learn not only about how local people live there, but also different culture and traditions. Secondly, graduating in the foreign countries gives graduates opportunities to get a work permit. Some people think working abroad earns higher income than the home country. This means that they will have a better quality of life.

On the other hand, studying abroad also has negative aspects. The main problem is about language difficulties. When a lecture is not given in people’s mother languages. They have to face adversity in learning or even communicating with their classmates. Apart from that, being homesick seems to be the other important factor. In order to grant the university degree, the students need to study for at least 1 to 4 years depending on what they choose to study. Absolutely, there are lots of trouble they have to deal with. For instance, the weather conditions in Europe are quite terrible, especially in the winter compared with my home country, Thailand, where the weather is more stable.

In conclusion, although it is somewhat hard to get used to the languages and the weather conditions in the foreign country, studying abroad gives you new experience and also perspectives which lead you to become successful.