People think that old buildings should be knocked down and give way to the modern buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there are lots of old buildings which seem risky and prone to collapse. In my opinion, despite some uniqueness of those buildings, some of them should be deconstructed and replace with the new ones.

There are two main reasons to support modern buildings. Firstly, dilapidated buildings are precarious. They are likely to collapse and put pedestrians in danger. For instance, when I was a child, some parts of an old building in my hometown had fallen down and made two pedestrians injured. Secondly, most architecture from the past is in bad shape with obsolete facilities and old-fashion designs. Therefore, they require considerable amount of money for renovation and repairing.

On the other hand, some old buildings should be preserved. First of all, historical buildings represent significance of culture and traditions which makes people living nearby them feel proud. Secondly, with their remarkable styles, these building boost the economy of nation by attracting tourists' attention. The more travellers visit, the more money is spent. For example, in Thailand, the grand palace and the temple of emerald Buddha is the most famous. Because of their splendid structures and original Thai motifs, millions of people choose to visit them every year. Apart from that, some historical sites have educational benefits. Because of their uniqueness, they are worth studying in several ways such as architecture, aesthetics and history.

In conclusion, due to value of the old buildings, they should be partly conserved. However, inessential old ones should be reconstructed with the modern ones because of safety and urban development.