People are surrounded by advertising and there is an increasing effect on our lives. Do you think positive effects outweigh the negative effects?

With the development of mass media, we are bombarded with all kinds of advertisement on a daily basis. In my opinion, although advertisements have some benefits, its drawbacks are more obvious if not reasonably regulated.

It is undeniable that advertisement plays some positive roles in modern commercial society. To begin with, advertising offers people some useful information about products, which is convenient for those potential consumers to know the price and function about those items they want to buy. Furthermore, some of them are well-designed with ingenious creativity and wonderful visual effects which spices up our daily life and entertain us a lot. Besides, the public service advertisements, in particular, can also raise the public’s awareness of some social problems, such as environmental protection and caring for some diseases, etc.

However, those deficiencies of advertisements cannot be neglected. The main drawback of most advertising is that it always exaggerates the merits of products while downplaying their disadvantages. Some of them even make false publicities, which exert adverse impact on consumers. Particularly, those commercial aimed at children often introduce some toys and snacks, which are prone to result in children distraction or diseases such as obesity. In addition, in recent years, advertisements are excessive, which lead to annoying among the society. Some of them are just brainwashing and their only effect is to spoil people’s emotional feeling, which should be strictly regulated.

In conclusion, advertisements indeed offer some convenience and entertainment to our daily life, but their negative effects outweigh those benefits in the long run.