In some countries, people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons for this? How to change their negative attitude?

The prosperity of international tourism recent years has brought economic development in some countries. However, at the same time it makes inhabitants constantly complain about it. In this essay I will analyse the possible reasons and take some feasible solutions to alter the residents' negative emotions.

While bringing huge revenues to the destinations, the growing number of tourists also have caused harmfulness to these countries. One of the most obvious influences is environmental deterioration. This is mainly because it is overcrowded in almost all those well-renowned tourist attractions regardless of whether tourists undermine the environment intentionally or not. Besides, with more tourists flock in, tourism has inevitably interrupted the locals' tranquil life. This phenomenon also result in the rising of living cost, which makes their daily life more inconvenient. Finally, some tourists do not respect the local's custom or religious beliefs, which sometimes even lead to the conflict between locals and foreign tourists.

Considering the latent adverse impacts on international tourism, several effective measurements should be adopted by the authorities of destination countries. Firstly, they should introduce more strict law to prevent tourists from damaging the environment. For example, abusive behaviours such as dropping litter about or making noise in public areas should be warned or even punished, in order to regulate tourists' behaviours. Furthermore, governments should also appeal to the tourists to respect the local custom. It is reasonable to print tip brochures and distribute them to the foreign tourists at the airport. In addition, subsidies could be allocated to those severely influenced areas as a compensation to those inhabitants as well.

In conclusion, the main reasons of negative attitudes are caused by the explosive amount of tourists, and local governments have responsibilities to change this situation and positively direct the residents' emotions.