Human activities have negative effects on plant and animal species. Some people think it is too late to do anything about this problem. Others believe that effective measures can be taken to improve this situation. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The development of human society has deteriorated the environment in recent years, which spoiled the diversity of fauna and flora. While some pessimists argue that this tendency is irreversible, I still believe that we can make effective efforts to protect animal and plant species.

It is understandable that some people hold the idea that the distinction of many animals and plants is inevitable. To begin with, some human activities, such as over-exploitation of natural resources, deforestation and greenhouse gas emission, have severely damaged the environment and it cannot restore in a short period of time. Taking the Great Barrier Reef as an example, which is predicted will thoroughly disappear in 50 years and human cannot do any effective measurement to prevent it. Besides, many countries, especially for those developing ones, have not established the sense of environmental protection. They just think that it will hinder their economy development. Even though some of them begin to emphasize it, building a integrated conservation of ecosystems cannot be finished soon. Therefore, people think that it is too late for human beings to do any protective actions.

Nonetheless, I think that there still remains hopes of protecting environment and biodiversity. Firstly, the development of scientific technology makes it possible for biological protection. For example, people can use clone to increase the number of endangered animals and plants. Furthermore, it is noteworthy that in the past several years a growing number of people have realized the importance of ecosystem protection. More protective organisations and natural reserves have been built to adopt and cure those animals, preventing them from extinction. Finally, the more application of renewable resources will gradually slow the harmfulness to the environment, which is a undeniably positive trend.

In conclusion, while reversing the environmental situation is not an easy task for human, I think we still have opportunities to protect our ecosystem as long as we spare no efforts to do it immediately.