In some countries, the role of a mother differs in some ways from that of a father. Why do you think these differences exist? How might parental roles develop in the future?

Father and mother are playing equally essential roles in the process of their children's growing up. However, in some countries, their importance and responsibilities are quite different. In this essay I will analyse the reasons and discuss the possible changes of their roles in the future.

There are several reasons for the difference of father and mother in some countries due to their traditional societal structure. On the one hand, in some countries, men are carrying on the responsibility as a breadwinner of a family. Their main tasks are supporting family financially. As a consequence, in most cases they are outside and their time spending with children is limited. On the other hand, in those areas women's role is working as housewives and some of them are even deprived from working outside. So they spend much more time educating their children and have a closer sensational relationship to their offspring than fathers. However, this imbalanced family relationship structure is harmful for children's physical and mental healthy on their way of growing up.

Fortunately, with the process of feminism and gender equality, an inceasing number of mothers begin to work and carry on the financial supporting while more fathers have more time and opportunities to accompany with their children and this is definitely a positive trend. Fathers can bring bravery, powerfulness and broader horizons to their children which cannot be provided by most mothers. With fathers' education, children's personality will development more completely. On the flip side, in the future mothers will concentrate more on children's delicate care, which can make their children's daily care in a higher quality. Therefore, although their educational roles are not the same in detail, they will shoulder equal responsibilities together for their children's better development.

In conclusion, the different roles in parenting result from some traditional and historical reasons. But in the future with the development of the society and people's change of view, fathers and mothers' responsibilitie will develop as well.