In many countries, there are more people choose to live by themselves than before. What are the reasons of this situation? Is it positive or negative development of society?

In recent years, more people tend to live independently, which is quite different from several decades ago and this phenomenon is more obvious in metropolitan area among young adults. I will analyse the main reasons of this situation and the impacts on the development of society in this essay.

There are several reasons for people living by themselves. Firstly, the economic development results in the social resources concentrating on metropolis, where most young people tend to go in search for better job opportunities. Therefore, they have to leave their hometown to live in the urban alone. Besides, the prosperity of the Internet makes people more diversified, which means that their hobbies and ideas become more characterized. This tendency is particularly the case among younger generation, whose ideology is totally opposite to their elder counterpart. They emphasize on personal freedom, independence and unconstraint. Finally, the huge living cost in urban area has dropped the marriage rate as well. Compared with marrying which means overheads will inevitably increase, young people would rather live alone.

Obviously, this situation has more negative effects than benefits of society. Although from individual's perspective they may become more independent and liberated, actually it has some potential risks as well. For one thing, people have to pay more for their living budget since the rent and other necessities costs much higher for those living alone. Furthermore, living alone for long time will easily make people feel lonely which may even cause some psychological diseases. As they live without others, youth will gradually become less concern with how to care for others and this will lead to an indifferent atmosphere in society. In addition, from the long term, the decreasing marriage rate will cause the shortage of labour, which is definitely an adverse effect for the economy of the country.

In conclusion, it is the development of society that causes more people choosing living alone. Even though it has some merits for individual, this tendency has more negative influences on society as a whole.