Some people think that children with different abilities should be taught together while some think that intelligent children should be given special training or taught separately. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People's attitudes towards whether talented children should be taught with other children are different. While some of them think that they should be taught separately, my opinion is that talents should have courses with other children and I will analyse it in this essay.

It is understandable that people think children with special abilities should be solely taught. Firstly, if geniuses are taught with other less-talented ones, their special abilities cannot fully exert, which would be a huge pity. For example, if a child who is extremely good at painting but not been sent to a special painting class, his merit might not be fulfilled and eventually he is likely to become mediocre. Besides, an unstreamed class with children in different levels cannot ensure the quality of knowledge imparting, the teacher may repeat several times for those less-talented pupils and this will be a waste of time for those eminent ones. This would cause low-efficiency in a class, which also be a waste of resource.

However, the aim of education should not only focus on pursuing high academic scores, but also form well-rounded personalities. Children who are not excellent at learning may also have other advantages, which is worthy for those talented ones to learn from. In order to improve children's social skills, it is reasonable to mix them in the same class. This can also encourage the talented children to help others in terms of learning. Furthermore, being taught solely may also lead to some psychological problems for those talented children. For example, some children become introvert or even socialphobia due to attending separated class and this is definitely adverse for their future development. Therefore, it is acceptable to build up some elective courses for schools to cater for those talented students to have further and more specialised learning.

In conclusion, for the sake of children's healthier growing up both physically and mentally, they should not been taught or trained separately. But it is appropriate for them to choose specialised electives to achieve their talents.