People are surrounded by all kinds of advertising. Some people believe that advertising has a negative effect on people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the majority of countries have experienced a growing popularity of advertisements. While I agree that advertising exerts detrimental effects on individuals, I believe that the benefit of ads is more important.

Admittedly, advertisements bring some negative influences. The main disadvantage is that advertisements usually exaggerate the quality of commodities, so customers seem not to have a sense of satisfaction and happiness after purchasing them. It is alleged that nowadays, the majority of people lose their trust in advertising because advertisements often deliberately overstate the function of items, especially luxurious ones. Another aspect is that youngsters often cope with financial difficulties when they spend much money on buying products that are advertised by their idols. These days, many companies cooperate with a variety of celebrities to catch the youth’s attention who believe that sharing the same items with idols brings some special meanings.

Despite the valid argument mentioned above, I believe that the positive impacts of advertisement are more valuable. First of all, advertising is the most direct way to inform customers of a given product’s quality. When a company premiers an advertisement this is evidence that they are generating enough revenue to validate whatever product they sell or service they provide. Secondly, advertising does not simply meet needs; it creates them. Most people could live more fulfilling lives with fewer products but advertising stimulates desires by appealing to consumer psychology and those initial wants eventually become habitual. A good example of this would be the rise of Apple products in the last two decades and the role of advertising in making them popular. Stylish ads like the ‘think different’ campaign helped foster their dominance.

In conclusion, I firmly hold the view that advertising is a beneficial phenomenon for all with a number of insignificant drawbacks. It is therefore important that consumers and officials should be mindful of the full contribution of advertisers.