Many people believe that it is easier to have a healthy lifestyle in the countryside. Others believe that there are health benefits of living in cities. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

People have different views about whether life in the countryside is healthier than in cities. While some people believe that it may seem easy to have a healthy lifestyle in rural areas, I would agree that city life has many health benefits.

On the one hand, there are those who believe that it might be considered that most aspects of countryside life are compatible with a healthy lifestyle. Firstly, living in cities means that people there often have to endure squalid living conditions due to the high population density. This is detrimental to health. In the countryside, people do not have to suffer the physical and mental stress which results from overcrowding and the hectic pace of city life, and so they lead healthier lives. Secondly, air pollution in urban areas causes respiratory illnesses, and public parks are often the only lungs of the city. In contrast, country air is fresh and uncontaminated.

On the other hand, I believe that city living now has important health benefits. The disappearance of traditional ways of life in the countryside has been an inevitable consequence of the growth of agro-industry. Therefore, the idea of the healthy peasant, living close to nature is, they believe, an outdated and romantic fiction. Cities, however, have better public health services, such as hospitals, medical practitioners and dentists. It is also easy to adopt a fitness regime in cities, where there are gyms and municipal parks to exercise.

In conclusion, despite the unequivocal health benefits of living in the countryside, I firmly hold the view that city living facilitates the enjoyment of physical and mental well-being. It is therefore important that people should consider choosing a healthy place to live.