People have different views about factors leading to people’s achievements. While I agree that material wealth and physical appearance are essential, I believe that diligence and persistence are more significant.

On the one hand, it is no doubt true that money and personal appearance play a pivotal role in attaining accomplishments. Firstly, those who were born in affluent families typically have a good foundation for their development and prosperity. For instance, they could easily start their own business without borrowing money from the bank or have a better education, which allows them to get a secure job in the future. Secondly, nowadays, it often appears that attractive appearance is of paramount importance to certain key sectors such as entertainment or fashion. Indeed, if a singer or a model is beautiful, it is possible for her to draw much attention from audiences and have greater opportunities to climb the social ladder.

On the other hand, I am of opinion that determined and industrious people are likely to have better chances of success. Perhaps the principal reason is that not everyone is fortunate enough to be born in wealthy families or to be beautiful, but by putting a great deal of effort, they could achieve their goals. The clearest example of this is that despite the absence of four limbs, Nick Vujicic learned to write by his mouth and successfully earned a bachelor degree with a double major; he is now a famous motivational speaker, traveling around the world to inspire the youth. The other reason is that major success seldom comes easily without perseverance. One of the notable examples is Thomas Edison, a well-known inventor, who conducted countless experiments and also failed thousands of times before eventually inventing the working light bulb

In conclusion, although I acknowledge that money and personal appearance significantly contribute to people’s success, I would argue that the role of being hard working and persistent is far more crucial.