: People living in large cities today face many problems in their everyday life. What are these problems? Should governments ecourage people move to smaller regional towns?

It is an obvious that most big cities are the center of education, health, commerce or entertainment. At first glance, living in large cities brings only benefits. However, further consideration of this issue reveals that this also has drawbacks. Thus, some people think that government should encourage people to migrate to smaller regional towns. In my opinion, I totally agree with this for several reasons.

There are many disadvantages for people who live in big cities. Firstly, the main issue which citizens living in great cities cope with is traffic jams. More and more people move to large cities to have better life, it leads to crowded population and mass quantity of cars and vehicles. The streets and public transport systems are usually overcrowded, especially in crush hour. It often takes us a long time to go home from work or school because of traffic congestion. The second problem is the noise and air pollution due to a large of number vehicles and industries which release exhaust fumes into the air and make a lot of noise. These cause the life in big cities becomes unhealthy and more stressful and city dwellers to be easy under stress. In additional, the pressure on urban housing supply system is a huge issue. More and more persons from rural areas move to big cities for living and working that will result in greater demand for accommodation. Hence it is likely to push up property prices and rents. As a result, people live in extremely narrow place.

Since such above issues, the government should encourage citizens to move away from major cities. Initially, it will reduce the number of vehicles in cities, which will definitely improve the situation where air pollution caused by traffic disturbs the lives of city residents. Furthermore, fewer people living in big cities will relieve the pressure on these cities’ housing supply systems when many people are living reluctantly in small, suffocating spaces. I think this is extremely important point to consider because living spaces are linked to people’s mental health and how they perform at work..

In short, it is clear that there are various reason for people living in large cities face in their life everyday, migration to large cities to live and work is usually many rural people’s first choice. The important thing is the government should issue policies to promote people, especially students or talented people to stay or return to smaller towns to live and work. This is one of the best way to reduce pressure on big cities as well as bridge the gap between the urban and rural.