People in many countries are spending less time with their family. What are the reasons, and effects of this?

Nowadays, with the rapid growth of the world, the society it creates also becomes more competitive pressurizing. As a result, people in many countries are spending less time with their family.

Firstly, the younger people today are facing a lot more pressure ever than before. Young children in this day and age are under great pressure from study, and typically children in Asian nations usually spend about 10 hours a day and 6 days a week at school, not to mention extra classes in the evening. So, he/she ends up having no time to spend with his/her family but rather friends. Adults are too occupied with their work and social relationships. For example, in countries like Japan where people spend the major proportion of their life working, officers and worker tend to stay at work until late evening and then they would attend exchanges with colleagues before going home.

There are several impacts of this trend, and they all tend to be detrimental. Firstly, parents who do not often care about their offspring will make them more vulnerable to psychological trauma. Many studies show that young children who are not cared for and lived without love, attention from parents are at high risk of developing autism. Secondly, the lack of interaction between family members would increase the gap generation between parents and children without family bonding time. The consequence is leading to conflicts and unhappiness.

In conclusion, people are having less and less time with family largely due to work and study pressures and the impacts of this on both individuals and families are severe.