People in many countries have to spend more and more time away from their home. Why is this? What are the effects on people themselves and their families?

It is believed that in many countries people are obligated to spend far less time for their home than their occupations. This development stem from both the infrastructure planning of government and ability to earn a living of people while its consequences deteriorate into individuals and societies.

This tendency is becoming ubiquitous in many countries due to some undeniable reasons. Firstly, the infrastructure planning of government forces companies to move their manufactures away from the urban area to avoid its influences to the health of residents such as noise or pollutants. As a results, the labor force of them have to commute further distances for their working, so the more time they allocate it for commuting, the less time they can spend for themselves and families. Secondly, if the employees devote a huge amount of time on their careers, they will have lucrative salaries. In fact, all companies always have overtime policies for workers, so it is an appealing offer for those who desire to earn an extra living to better in living standards and improve the life qualities of their families. For instance, parents who works as both bread-winners might feasibly have more opportunities to support their families better than staying home parents

Although it has some positive impacts, undoubtedly detrimental effects are still found. Firstly, employees investing a lot time in their work can trigger severe health issues. The sedentary lifestyles and excessive consumption a lot of fast food due to the time consuming might be a roots of obesity diabetes, chronic illness which mostly exist in the both white and blue collars after their retirement. Furthermore, the pressure in working environments also contribute to some mental disorders such as stress and even suicides in many countries, especially in Japan. Secondly, children may lack of parental guides and attentions if their parents leave no time for them. By virtue of this, these offspring can easily experience feelings of loneliness and isolation at schools and home, leading to the negatively psychological issues such as autism and mental illness. Furthermore, they can also be the victims of bullying by their friends, facilitating the risk of following a path towards the criminal behaviors in the future.

In conclusion, people investing more time in careers brings a lot of advantages to individuals, but the detrimental influences of this trend are inevitable to both personal health and children development