People nowadays tend to have children at older ages. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

The age people have children varies with the development of the society. Therefore, the recent number of adults having children late in life is surveyed to rise dramatically. From my perspective, this phenomenon might result in both merits and demerits to people, which will be shed light on in this essay.

On the positive side, adults, especiallyadults (especially those who are under the age of 27) 30s might be more ready to be parents by the fact that they obtain more maturity and responsibility through experiences. The more mature parents are, the better parenting skills. Having children at older ages can be advantageous in a sense that parents may adopt a stable financial and income status. It can be explained that they have such abundant finance that they are able to maintain a family as well as bring a child up without tearing their hair out due to financial issues. Consequently, family is their first priority.

However, having children late can have detrimental influences on not only the baby, but also the mother. For example, According to a survey conducted by Oxford university, the increasing rate of facing Down syndrome in children is relevant to their mother’s age when giving birth. Moreover, children will have a growing tendency to have lower birth weight. Having children at old ages also can take a toll on the economy of the nation because of the decrease in the labourin labour force, led by the aging population.

In conclusion, having children late in life not only can be a great help but it can also do people a disservice