People nowadays tend to have children at older ages. What are the reasons? Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that in this modern era, parents tend to have kids at latter stages of their live. The root of this tendency could be they want their children to have better living standards and I believe that the benefits of this tendency are more significant than its drawbacks.

To begin with, adults plan to have children at older ages because they want to provide their offspring the best education and amenities. Many people have financial burden when they were young but come wealthier as they get older. They therefore believe that having a child later in life would fulfill their children’s needs since their family is wealthy enough by then. Those parents could send their kids to high quality schools, buy them comfortable clothes as they need, and bring them to restaurants to eat food that they enjoy. Furthermore, those children wouldn’t have to suffer pressure from worrying about the debts that their parents have.

This tendency might have a negative effect. As the older a woman get, the higher the risk that her child would have brain diseases if she give birth. Retarded, for instance, could happen when women give birth after their 40s. If they choose to have children at older ages, they will have to accept this risk.

However, this tendency is advantageous to many aspects, which prevail over the disadvantages. The first one is kids would have the environment to develop their potential. As parents are more financial stable, they would have more free days when they could bring their children out to do physical activities and develop soft skills. That would as a result help youngsters to develop themselves fully to join in the workforce and take care of themselves. The second one is the connection between parents and their offspring would become tighter. As adults spend more time with their children, they would become closer to each other, which significantly benefit the spiritual life of their kids.

In conclusion, parents plan to give birth to their offspring later in life because they believe it would give their children a better living environment. Even though there are still some down sides of this tendency, I argue that the advantages prevail over them.