Sleep is vital for our bodily function. Unfortunately, at present, people tend to sleep less than many years ago. This is because the majority of their time is allocated to work which leads to fatigue and other health problems.

Due to the high standards of living today, people worked longer hours to meet their needs and their families as well. In order to have sufficient funds for the payment of bills, basic commodities, insurance policies, and even for recreation and leisure, workers are rendering overtime hours while some are having two or more part-time jobs which compromise their sleeping hours. For instance in a survey, the majority of the expats here in the United Arab Emirates and extending at least 2 hours and even working on weekends and holidays for an additional payment. Also, according to the study conducted by the Social Weather Station, 85% of Filipino Overseas Filipino Workers across the globe are working on extra hours and had double jobs in order to send a higher remittance to their families in the Philippines. Moreover, it was published in the Nature Reviews Neuroscience that there is a “precipitous decline in sleep duration throughout industrialized nations”.

A complete 8 hour sleep is essential for our body to recuperate from the effects of our work throughout the day. But due to the extended working hours, the required hours of sleep is rare nowadays. This results in an inability to concentrate on work, fatigue and other health problems such as heart disease, high blood pressure, depression and more. It was emphasized on the study conducted by Harvard University that initially, majority of people who lack sleep tend to feel tired and exhausted but habitual inadequate sleep leads to fatal health consequences, injuries and even death.

As the old people say, everything that is in excess or lacking is bad, same as with the shorter sleeping hours and longer hours at work. However, due to the high costs of living, working additional hours is inevitable which deficient sleep, hence, resulting in fatigue and other health problems.