People spend large amounts of time and money on clothes, hairstyles and makeup to change their appearance.

Is it important for people to be concerned about the way they look? What are the consequences of focussing on physical appearance?

People dedicate their time and money to change their looks with hairstyles, makeup and clothes. Although physical appearance is important to some extent it is not as important as personality. And people's obsession with looking good creates serious consequences.

People have always worried about their looks and wanted to be more attractive. It is indeed important to look decent in some places such as work and school. The way we dress up and do our hair show people around us that we respect them. For instance, if we wear unformal clothes and untidy hair to an important meeting, people would think we don't care for them or even disrespect them. However, people like who we are not how we dress or do our hair. So in the end it is our personality and how we treat others is more important than how we look.

Focussing on the physical appearance too much may have drawbacks. Firstly, buying clothes and makeup or going to the hairdresser requires large amounts of money. Therefore, doing these too often may challenge people financially, they might end up in debt. My friend, for example, used her credit card to buy designer clothes but couldn't pay off her debt in time. Furthermore, when people only care about looks, they judge people based on their appearance rather than their personality. This superficial assessment is not right, since people are much more than their physical appearances.

In conclusion, looking good is necessary for some situations but it's not the most important aspect of our lives. And spending lots of money and time on making ourselves more attractive might put an economical burden on us.