In some countries, it is now illegal to reject someone applying for a job because of his or her age.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, many countries are making legislation to protect employers rights such as prohibiting employers from rejecting candidates based on their age. I believe this is a positive development.

There are several reasons why employers might feel like this is not the right direction. The main one is, older people might not be suitable for some work fields where they need to do heavy physical work most of the time. Therefore, employers would want to know applicants ages to have better grips of their capacity. For example, a worker in the construction industry would need to be fit, able to carry heavy materials and be active all day long.

However, it would be better to have a general rule that forbids the rejection of people because of their age. Although some jobs can be done better by young people, many employers simply reject candidates unfairly. For instance, they might be concerned about the image of the company and think a younger person would make them appear good so, they would choose a younger person even though an old applicant has better qualifications. Also, older people, especially in some particular fields such as law or accountancy, many skills since they work in this area for a long time. Their experiences would bring so much to the company that a younger person might not be capable of. Therefore, it is beneficial to put rules to prevent the rejection of older people.

In conclusion, some countries are making rules to prevent age discrimination at workplaces which is a positive development that gives all people equal chances to earn their living. I believe, many countries would adopt this rule in the future.