Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other, while others think that people have become more independent.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is always has been the case that our lives intertwined with the lives of others. However, in the modern era, some people believe that dependency between people increased whilst others argue that people have grown to be more independent.

One reason why people think that we are more dependent on others is that with social media we seek validation from people. People are bombarded with images of beautiful models and rich people who seem to have perfect lives. Therefore, many people feel the need to go on social media and post their pictures expecting getting positive feedback. When people get likes from others it restores their self-image. Furthermore, because of our busy and hectic lives, we need help from others. Some parents, for instance, rely on their mothers to take care of their children while they are at work.

On the other hand, I believe people are generally becoming more independent. We can see that many people are choosing to reside in different cities or even different countries from their families. They led their own lives and rarely see their siblings or parents, which was a rare case in the past. In addition to this, people are more fond of their privacy and do not need others to help them. In many places, these days, people often do not know their neighbours or interact with them.

In conclusion, people rely on others on some occasions but certainly not as much as they used to do in old days. In my opinion, people are more independent and private.