Currently there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective, and at worst they may be dangerous.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Recently, using alternative forms of medicine become popular among people. Although some people claim that these methods are useless and dangerous, I believe they could be beneficial to health.

There are several reasons why the conventional medical community is often dismissive of alternatives. Firstly, there has been little scientific research into alternative medicine. This lack of information frightens people. Secondly, people who use this type of therapies often try it because of a friend's or family member's recommendation. Hearing positive stories about alternative medicine, people start their therapies with a good mindset, so this might be the cause of their cure. Moreover, these therapies usually only useful for long-term, chronic conditions. Acute medical problems such as injuries from accidents require more conventional methods.

One the other hand, strong arguments in favour of alternatives remain. Despite the lack of scientific proof, there are lots of anecdotal evidence to suggest that therapies work. In addition, these methods are far from being dangerous, they often have no side effects. So the worst outcome could be no change. The strongest arguments for the effectiveness of alternative medicine is that it has been available for ages. If these were completely ineffective, people would not continue using such medicine. For instance, drinking herbal teas to cure some conditions have been a popular method for centuries.

In conclusion, I strongly believe alternative and conventional methods can and should coexist. They are both useful to cure particular medical problems. The best situation would be to support conventional medicine with alternatives.