Earlier technological developments brought more benefits and changed the lives of ordinary people more than recent developments ever will. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Developments in technology have dramatically changed the way we live. And some people think older technological advances had a bigger impact on our lives than recent developments. I partly agree with this statement, I believe advantages and impacts on people's lives depends on the particular area of technology.

There is no doubt that earlier technologies have been very influential in our lives, such as those related to technology around the home. Devices such as washing machines, televisions, microwaves and central heating were invented many years ago. And now almost everyone uses these to make their lives easier. Though there have been improvements in these devices, they still serve the same purpose as the time they were first invented.

Another example of this is medicine. Although there are many ground-breaking developments such as research into stem cells and genes, these do not affect average people at the moment. However, earlier advances in this area still have a great impact on our health. The ability to treat injuries, diseases and organ transplants helped many people and will for decades to come.

However, if we look at some more recent developments, they have had a much greater influence than in the past. Phones, for instance, are a significant development that helped many people. Although invented many years ago, technologic improvements changed phones from just a device to call people to the smart mini computer. People, nowadays, uses their phone for many everyday activities and to contact the world.

In conclusion, I would argue that some older technologies have benefits as well as some recent ones. The impacts on ordinary people's lives therefore depend on the type of technology.