Some people prefer to buy local products while others prefer international products. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

While some consumers prefer to purchase local products, others prefer imported goods. In this essay, I will discuss these buying habits of people and I will explain why I believe buying locally produced goods are better for the economy.

To begin with, some people choose to purchase imported goods due to the quality of the products. With the advancement in technology, many renowned companies use modern machines which eventually enhance quality. Such flawless goods attract buyers globally. For instance, a famous clothing brand Zara has comfortable designs that last longer. Furthermore, in some places imported products are considered a status symbol, so people buy these items for their image. In Turkey, being able to buy a Ferrari shows that a person is wealthy.

On the other hand, some people prefer buying from local markets and stores since they want to support the local economy. If people buy locally manufactured products their money would go to local businesses rather than big international corporations. Also, a small local business creates employment opportunities and contributes to national income. Hence, the local economy will benefit from this act. For instance, in Turkey, we had a campaign which, encouraged people to purchase local products. Moreover, local goods are cheaper than international ones. Since expenditures ranging from custom duty and transportation to distribution are not incurring to produce it, customers save a lot of money. For example, locally grown apples in the stores are 1$ whereas, apples which imported from Holland cost 3$.

Inconclusion, people buy imported good for quality and the prestigious of the item however, others choose native goods to support the local economy. In my opinion, buying local products are better for the countries future.