Tourism is encouraged in many countries. Does tourism bring more advantages or disadvantages to a country?

Many countries around the world encourage tourism and travellers. In this essay, I will discuss the positive and negative sides of this trend. Firstly, I will explore the advantages of tourism and secondly, I will discuss the disadvantages that come with tourism.

One of the benefits of tourism is its positive effect on the economy. There are lots of businesses that earn their income through tourists, emploees of this businesses and smaller self-employed people as well. For example, when people are travelling, they spend money on accommodation, food, transport and often buy some souvenirs to bring back home. Also, while governments trying to improve tourism, they build new infrastructures and facilities such as new roads, trails, beaches and public restrooms. These facilities are helpful to travellers as well as the locals. Furthermore, travelling helps people experience different and foreign cultures. This can help them learn and understand the lives of others hence, tourism would connect humans at a different level.

One the other hand, one of the downsides of tourism is that some countries depend on tourism as their biggest income source. If a place earns their money mostly from tourism, it gets difficult when tourist stop visiting. For example, the economies of holiday paradises like Thailand and Maldives effected heavily from Covid19 (travelling was banned worldwide). Moreover, some tourists are acting disrespectful and inconsiderate while enjoying themselves. For example, they don't show respect to local culture and customs or litter the environment.

In conclusion, we can see there are many advantages and disadvantages of tourism.