Tourism is encouraged in many countries. Does tourism bring more advantages or disadvantages to a country.

In the era of globalisation, it is seen that many countries are stepping ahead to promote culture of tourism. Huge amount of investments are being encouraged to increase the flow of visitors in order to heighten the foreign currency exchange and to enhance job opportunities to masses especially in developing countries. Although, tourism is becoming a popular industry at international grounds, its seasonal dependency and other negative factors can not be overlooked. This essay will emphasize on both positive and negative aspect of this industry.

Tourism, which is emerging as a successful revenue resource, has numerous benefits on service and economic sector of a country. Many interlinked services such as airline, surface transportation, food industry and many more acquire large scale benefits with extension of tourist business. Moreover, it leads to economic growth by raising GDP of a nation. Tourism gives rise to many employment opportunities especially to local communities that helps in raising their income structure. For instance, local people boost their income by advertising cultural products and presenting local dances to the visitors. In addition, profits generated are later invested on improving the infrastructure of tourist areas. Hence, tourism plays a vital role to enhancing global status of a country.

On the other hand, there are various scenarios which can not be ignored in context of tourism. Being seasonal, it is not regarded as a stable source of income, as it mainly depends on holidays and weather conditions of respective destination. Also, it leads to many criminal activities, which can disrupt the peace and harmony of any nation. Moreover, rise in prices of local products adversely effects the livelihood of local people. In addition, increase in number of visitors results in heavy traffic jams that leads to severe road congestion. For example, every year, in summer season rate of flights, hotels and local products gets skyrocketed due to surge in number of visitors. So, drawbacks that are associated with tourism are worth grabbing one's attention.

To conclude, tourism is earning a lot of global attention. Its contribution towards nation's growth is commendable, despite few down points. While few are concerned about its growing impact on local bodies, others appreciate its role in overall future prospects. So, I believe that the favours and benefits linked with tourism outweighs the disadvantages associated to it.