People will buy a product if it fulfills their needs and requirements so there is no need to advertise. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Marketing and advertisements are a major part of the sales process. However, some people argue that ads serve no real propose to motivate people's purchases since consumers already buy their needs. I completely disagree with this view due to fact that advertisements give a minimum guarantee for a product's quality and transform consumer's desires into needs.

First of all, adverts are the most direct way to show consumers the quality of the product. The content of the ad is less important than the fact company was able to produce, distribute and promote its product. KFC, for instance, has a great ad strategy to showcase its quality with the '11 spice secret recipe' campaign. When a lesser-known company premiers an advertisement this does not only show their quality but also is evidence of they have enough revenue to validate whatever product they sell or service they provide.

Secondly, ads not only promote products but also creates new needs. Many people can indeed live fulfilling lives with fewer products, but ads simulate consumers desires. Apple is a great example of this, they created a huge demand for their products using marketing strategies. People nowadays, buy iPhone's or Macbooks not because they necessarily need them but they want to be part of a group. Stylish ads like the 'Think different' campaign helped them assert their dominance in the market.

In conclusion, I believe advertising serves an important role in society. It serves as quality assurance and creates more demand for products which is essential for a good economy.