Plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of land and sea. Some people think they should be banned.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is thought by some that shopping bags, which are made from plastic, should be prohibited as they are one of the reason of land and sea pollution. In my opinion, banning plastic bags would be problematic for economy and environment, therefore, the governments should control production of plastic bags.

Plastic is cheapest material that is suitable for shopping bags and prohibition of them will bring many problems to whole world. Plastic bags became part of our lives because all our purchases wrapped into plastic. In addition, plastic bags can safe purchases from damages when they transported to long distances.

Another point to consider that all items which we buy should be wrapped and handed in bags and one possible solution is using paper bags. Furthermore, all our purchases will be wrapped in paper bags as a result manufacturers of paper bags will cut more and more trees. Consequently, the environment will suffer as trees is the one of the most valuable feature of our environment.

Finally, the best solution would be to control production of plastic bags by the state and make them expensive as a result people will not waste them. This is because only governments can control manufacturers through new laws and taxation. For example, in Uzbekistan this year the government introduced new law about plastic bags, according to law all shops should sell plastic bags for high price as a result people do not waste them

In conclusion, prohibition of plastic bags would be harmful for the environment as people will use more paper bags, having expensive plastic bags would be much better for the environment.