Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment.

What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Water pollution is a globally serious problem and the top concern of environmentalists. It mainly results from human activities and causes enormous damages to both human and animal life.

First of all, it is a common fact that water pollution primarily derives from humans. We can easily see a person littering on the beach or throwing their rubbish into the river near their house, thus the bacterias or viruses in their dirty garbage would have chances to spread and pollute the water. Besides, illegal and uncontrolled fishing leads to the death of hundreds of marine animals like fish or shrimps floating on the water surface. When their bodies start to decompose, unexpected elements like dirty blood, dead cells or proteins and lipids would day by day make our water become significantly toxic and undrinkable.

Consequently, humans and animals are the victims of this problem. Nowadays, there has been a shortage of fresh water for household use in some areas of the world, especially people who live in remote wilderness, which causes regular interruptions in their industrial and daily living activities. Furthermore, the high level of carbon dioxide, sulfur or mercury in rainwater when water is evaporated from polluted lakes, rivers destroy many blocks of buildings and plants. Therefore, there wouldn't be sufficient food for us to consume and animals' natural habitats are badly affected, which results in disappearance of various species.

In conclusion, human beings have a majority of contribution to polluting the water and this problem leads to plenty of extremely negative impacts on both animal existence and human community.