The government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizens’ health rather than on protecting the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

The ongoing debate over whether the governments should invest money in doing medical research with a view to improving citizen’s health or in environmental protection still remains a source of controversy. From my perspective, even though I would contend that people’s health is of foremost importance, I believe that the environment is also under dire threats that needs timely actions. This essay will discuss detailed reasons for both views before drawing a rational conclusion.

To embark on, there are several key rationales to why people’s health should be given priority. If people live a healthy life without coming down with any diseases, the governments can invest money in different major areas such as economics, military and even education. That is to say, a nation fraught with appalling diseases or contagious plagues will have to expend their budget in curing illnesses, thus resulting in a dearth of funds and workforce to increase the economic growth since they are all on the verge of death. Therefore, only when people’s heath is ensured can the country flourish. Moreover, health is a potential field that can act as a powerful tool to assist the revenue of one country. It is crystal clear to see that if one country possesses pragmatic medical research, they can sell it to other countries and earn a fortune, which may go up to billion dollars.

Despite abovementioned benefits of medical care, it is worth noting that environmental problems can act as a deterrent to all the progresses if they reach an alarming rate. To be more specific, extreme heat which stems from climate change is the main culprit for more than 70000 deaths in Europe just in the year 2003. Its manifold forms also afflict around 300 million people, thus rising fear among everybody in the world if it exacerbates. In simple words, efforts of developing healthcare systems will go down the drain if it is not solved simultaneously with environmental problems. What is more, this pressing problem also afflicts vegetation and animals through global warming, ice melting and deplorable natural disasters. Consequently, people have no food supplying sources to rely on, thereby vanishing sooner or later.

To conclude, medical care and environmental protection are of paramount importance that should be handled all at once to make sure that one will not hinder the process of the other for long-term benefits.